Reintroductions

TL;DR: I rode 15 miles on my commuter bike b/c it has the best seat.  Everything hurt when I was done, but I enjoyed it.

This post will have plenty of prose, interspersed with pictures from my favorite local loop. 
img_1137

My favorite pastime, cycling, has been difficult to access for the last three months eternity.  The reality of my existence is that having a fulltime job, a family to take care of and be pursuing a master’s degree preclude taking time to ride for content creation.  But, as many have told me, and I believe myself, “You will make time for the things that are important to you.”  If, as I’ve written before, I must take care of myself in order to take care of others, then being on my bicycle is not just fun, but a requirement for my quality of life.

So, for the re-introductions.

Feet to pedals

This bike has the stock pedals. Flat pedals. My feet are not as tough as they once were and I wasn’t wearing my rigid cycling shoes, I was wearing my converse. So from time to time,  I got some numbness in my toes because I didn’t have firm enough footwear on.  Something about pinching nerves. If anyone knows why this happens, tell me in the comments.

Seat to posterior

In the past, riding has been fun, until numbness, in an area that shouldn’t be, set in. While my favorite blogger has a story about this area, I’ll let you theorize. Late last year, I purchased a seat with cutouts to attempt to prevent this. It worked.

My soft tissues (contact points) that weren’t in the afore-mentioned area were still bruised and angry at the end. But that’s no different than any other ride after a long time off the bike, a temporary sign of being in the saddle more than is comfortable (right now).

Hands to handlebar

I have lost my relaxed control of my bike. I haven’t ridden enough to have my upper body do the work and my hands simply be the points where arms connect to bike. Instead I was white-knuckling, squeezing way too hard, on the handlebars. How do I know? Numbness in my hands. Yay. *sad trombone sound*

Also, like a noob, I left my gloves at home so I had to squeeze harder as my hands got sweaty.

Mind to riding.

So is the easiest part to get used to. I’ve never gotten over the relaxed feeling of rolling along on two wheels almost silently. For me, riding a bicycle is the metaphysical equivalent of a previous generation sitting in a chair and smoking a cigar. With friends or without, it is one of my favorite things to do. When I ride, I find solace in activity, I meditate and ruminate while moving. Fast or slow, with others or not, cycling is something I’m always mentally prepared for.

Are you?

Eat Better

Move More

Get Out and Ride

Leave a comment