A Perfect Piece Of Pavement

This weekend is the cycling event that I usually most look forward to and simultaneously dread each year. The 100 Miles Of Nowhere. My attempt will be both an inexorable trial and a glorious challenge of stamina. Follow me on twitter @EricMBurgeson to get the play by play.

I’ve railed against cars before on this blog.  I’ve complained that they’re dangerous from my perspective, that many use them wastefully, and they are a crutch that makes us fat and lazy.  I have another problem with them: They isolate us from the landscape.

image

Why would you not want to hear, smell, and feel this?

I’ve avoided a certain street on my bicycle commute for years.  This street was so old that I could see paving BRICKS in the myriad of potholes, and the curbs were CUT LIMESTONE, not poured concrete. 

I’ve driven it many times, because my car insulates me from it.  But recently this happened:

image

“They” milled the road down and poured a brand new roadbed! Joy of joys, I find excuses to ride on this now.  It’s spectacular.

image

Smooth and flat, the way I like my coffee roads to be.  Thanks, “They”!

Move More
Eat Better
Get Out And Ride

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a comment