Tales from the Bike Lane 03

Change your route when something feels off, don’t be afraid to backtrack.

This morning, as I was commuting to work, I discovered that a long-closed-for-construction bike trail was finally open. This was exciting, as that path has been closed for over a year, and the detour has added a semi-dangerous half meil to my commute in each direction.

As I got to riding, the path become more broken up, the ground became uneven, and finally i stopped as I came upon a pile of rebar that was in the path. I could get around it, but something felt off. I couldn’t see through the dark far enough to see if it was safe, there was no barrier between the construction equipment, and there was a large excavator heading in my general direction.

Ultimately, I turned around and used the detour. It has been my reality for the better part of a year, might as well use it a few more times. The detour route eventually reconnects with the original and I found the construction barricades at that end.

I added minutes and fractions of a mile by having to backtrack, but It was ultimately safer.

Move more

Eat better

Get Out and Ride

Leave a comment